Botanical Survey of India

Botanical Survey of India

Brief Introduction, objectives and functions:

Botanical Survey of India (BSI) establis hed on 13th February 1890,is the apex research organization under the Minist1y of Envi ronment Forest and Climate Change, Govt. of India, carrying out the taxonomic/flo ristic studies on wild plant resow·ces of the cou nt1y with an objective  to explore  the plant  resources of  the country. Presently, BSI  has 11 regional centres with its headquarters at Kolkata and actively engaged in inventorying the floral resources of wide array of ecosystems from coastal sea to high mountain ranges of Himalayas covering all the state and union territories.

BSI with Headquarters at Kolkata and following Regional Centres/ field offices/ laboratories:

  1. AJC Bose Indian Botanic Garden, Howrah
  2. Central Botanical Laboratory , Howrah
  3. Industrial Section, Indian Museum, Kolkata
  4. Central National Herbarium, Howrah
  5. Arunachal Pradesh Regional Centre , Itanagar
  6. Eastern Regional Centre, Shillong
  7. Sikkim Himalayan Regional Centre , Gangtok
  8. Central Regional Centre, Allahabad
  9. Northern Regional Centre,
  10. Arid Zone Regional Centre, Jodhpur
  11. Western Regional Centre, Pune
  12. Deccan Regional Centre, Hyderabad
  13. Southern Regional Centre, Coimbatore
  14. Andaman & Nicobar Regional Centre, Port Blair
  15. Botanic Garden Of Indian Republic, Naida
  16. High Altitude Western Himalayan Regional Centre, Solan

For more details please visit the website :

Back to Previous Page | Last Updated date: 16-08-2022